Or Search Events in GUC Calendar

"Study Electronics in Egypt" by GUC’s Faculty IET and IEEE

post date: 12/6/2022
In   Academic, Tuesday, December 6, 2022
On Campus - GUC

On Tuesday, December 6th, the IEEE GUC student branch together with Assistant Professor Dr. Dina Reda Eldamak under the supervision of the Faculty of Information Engineering and Technology (IET) organized a workshop to highlight the opportunities and how to overcome the challenges in the integrated circuits design field in Egypt. The workshop’s title was "Study Electronics in Egypt". The workshop started with introductory remarks by Dr. Dina Eldamak. Then, The Dean of the Faculty of Information Engineering and Technology (IET),Prof. Dr. Ahmed El-Mahdy, presented the curriculum of the electronics department and the lists of the full-time and part-time faculty members at the GUC.
Later, the chair of the Electronics Department, Prof. Dr. Frank Gunzer, presented an overview of the research program of each faculty in the Electronics Department: Dr. Eman Azab, Dr. Mohamed Abdel-Ghany, Dr. Dina Reda Eldamak, and Dr. Haitham Omran. The Vice Dean of Student Affairs of IET, Prof. Dr. Amr Talaat Abdelhamid, who is also the director of a company that designs and sells Internet of Things (IoT) devices, talked about how he launched his company and showed a video demo of the IoT sensors developed by his team.
Finally, Professor Dr. Sameh Ibrahim, a professor at Ain Shams University, talked about the initiative of the Egyptian Ministry of Communications and Information Technology “Egypt Makes Electronics” and the various activities of the IEEE - Egypt Section: Solid-State Circuits Society (SSCS) Chapter in 2022. The IEEE Egypt Section Solid-State Circuits Society (SSCS) Chapter representatives provided appreciation certificates and free IEEE Solid-State Circuits Society (SSCS) registration for the volunteers from the GUC who helped with the registration and the advertisement of the event. The volunteers were Eng. Sandy Atef, Khaled Elbadawy, Amr Khaled, Mohamed Ashraf, Seif Walid, and Sama Yasser.